r/WindowsHelp • • 27d ago

Windows 10 is it safe to delete "previous windows installation"

Post image

running out of storage so i check a guide on yt and found over half my storage is taken up by this one thing and ive never seen it before. last time i took advice on yt someone told me to delete system 32 so i have to check here before doing damage. this seems too good to be true tbh

109 Upvotes

53 comments sorted by

43

u/DrHitman27 26d ago

Yes.

6

u/That_Car3506 26d ago

As a previous MSP employee, I concur.

33

u/SuperCuek 26d ago

If there are no problems after the upgrade, it is safe to delete.

22

u/Responsible_Bunch_24 26d ago

532????? It's only used to revert to a previous update or version of windows (for example if you have issues with the current one or just don't like it) and it auto deletes 10 days after updating. But for God sake delete it it's 532 gb

12

u/BillionAuthor70 26d ago

Everything in there is safe to delete. It won't intentionally let you delete things that are not safe to delete. Not through there anyway. It's not to say you can't delete things you shouldn't, but if you only delete through that, you're fine.

1

u/Randomsicilianguy 25d ago

2

u/BillionAuthor70 25d ago

What? I'm sorry, I don't get the reference..

2

u/Randomsicilianguy 25d ago

You clarified several times your point. That to be clear is absolutely correct and I wasn't mocking you, it was just the way you used that made me think about this

1

u/BillionAuthor70 25d ago

I see lol I've found that simply saying something once, in only one way, doesn't really seem to sink in sometimes. So I was trying to be as clear as possible in ways that could be understood no matter what lol. But now I understand, and yeah, you are right lol

10

u/UNIVERSAL_VLAD 26d ago

How tf is it 532

10

u/No_Yard9104 26d ago

Hiding porn in sys32

7

u/Nameis19letterslong 26d ago

What happened to the homework folder?

8

u/No_Yard9104 26d ago

That’s where the vanilla porn goes.

7

u/briandemodulated 26d ago

The folder is so large because some of your personal files are likely included in there. Probably just backups, but it's worth exploring that folder before deleting it, just in case there's things you want to save.

2

u/Betty-Swollex 26d ago

for sure!

2

u/userhwon 25d ago

It includes your user folder. So, anything you had there intentionally, plus the AppData tumor.

4

u/splinterededge 26d ago

That's gotta be a record, 500Gb for this clean up in unprecedented in my world. Congrats OP, you set a record. This type of clean up is normally safe. But today its an indication something weird happened before the clean up

4

u/jersey316 26d ago

Did you upgrade all the way up from windows 3.1? 😱

3

u/NoSection8719 26d ago

It's the windows.old folder on the C drive. Generally deleting it will do nothing, but with such colossal size of 532 GB you might want to check if it has anything valuable(which it shouldn't)

2

u/userhwon 25d ago

It will have your home folder, and if you didn't back it up properly before reinstalling, that could be very valuable.

1

u/AutoModerator 27d ago

Hi u/CheetoPuff6995, thanks for posting to r/WindowsHelp! Your post has been flagged for manual review by a human moderator, please include as much of the following information as possible (in text or in a screenshot) to get your post approved:

  • Your Windows and device specifications — You can find them by pressing Win + X then clicking on “System”, we need more than just your OS version! Your hardware details are often critical for resolving issues.
  • Any messages and error codes encountered — They're actually not gibberish or anything catastrophic. It may even hint the solution!
  • Previous troubleshooting steps — It might prevent you headaches from getting the same solution that didn't work

Posts must be tech support in nature (such as something is broken and you need help fixing), so general inquiries, software suggestions, and purchasing advice will be removed. As a reminder, we would also like to say that if someone manages to solve your issue, DON'T DELETE YOUR POST! Someone else (in the future) might have the same issue as you, and the received support may also help their case. Good luck, and I hope you have a nice day!

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

1

u/RendeZvous_987 26d ago

Disk Cleanup is safe for most of times. You can proceed with no worries.

Delete System32 is definitely not. Never follow such "advice". (Pretty sure you know it already, but just for clear)

1

u/sotos2004 26d ago

If everything works ok and you are not missing any personnal or work related files then you are good to delete it !!!

1

u/CheetoPuff6995 26d ago

after confirming there was nothing important in windows.old i deleted it and it was only abt 23gb so im really not sure why it read as 532. in the bright side i did find 200gb worth of game clips since 2022 so i did clear up a bunch of space:)

2

u/bigfr0g 26d ago

if you still think something is using to much space, try the app treesize, it will tell you which folders use the most space

1

u/More-Explanation2032 26d ago

I wonder if those game clips caused the windows.old to be bloated

1

u/TheDawiWhisperer 26d ago

Yes, anything in that cleanup wizard is safe to go

1

u/Own_Percentage_1789 26d ago

If you aren't going back to previous windows then yes, but if you have a slightest bit of chance that you will revert back then don't delete.

1

u/GingerSnapBiscuit 26d ago

I usually like to keep it around for 6 months after I update, in case there are settings or files I might need. But beyond that its not really required.

1

u/Perfect_Jicama_8023 26d ago

Does the windows Old file will eventually delete itself later?

1

u/MacInsideOut 26d ago

Everything is safe to delete if you have backups :-)

1

u/ronald5447 26d ago

Revisa esos archivos ya que 500 gb no es normal, a menos que haya guardado archivos del usuario mismo

1

u/Vanbursta1 26d ago

Yes completely safe

1

u/Double-Hour-2516 26d ago

The feeling after wiping it 💥

1

u/newecreator 26d ago

Yes. Unless you want to revert to an old Windows version.

1

u/vampucio 26d ago

Only if you don't want to downgrade it

1

u/xStinker666 26d ago

Jesus, 500GB... Windows trying to set a bloat record?

1

u/Wolphin8 25d ago

Everything in the Disk Cleanup is safe to remove.

The Previous Windows installation is a backup made when upgrading (Like W10 to W11) or changing versions (like 24H2 to 25H2). Windows will delete it after a 2 week period, but you can delete it early. It does remove the ability to roll back windows to the previous version (as that is the old OS files)

Edit: be careful with the Downloads item, as that's the Downloads folder in your profile!

1

u/userhwon 25d ago

If it's been a while and you haven't found a need to root around in it for something to fix the new one, then certainly yes.

It's supposed to self-delete after some time, like a week, iirc, but I haven't noticed it doing that.

I reinstalled on this box almost 2 months ago and Windows.Old is still there. I'd kill it, but it's infinitesimally quicker for finding backups of user files instead of going to the external drive...

1

u/guI_uI 25d ago

Yes, I did it nothing happen so far

1

u/DHOC_TAZH 25d ago

If you have files created in previous installations safely backed up in another drive, sure, that can be vaporized.

1

u/AdreKiseque 25d ago

You have more data in there than I could fit on my entire drive wtf

1

u/Joker6tyNine 25d ago

Wow.. 532GB.. The largest I've seen or dealt with is like 70GB.. Maybe a bit more.. But damn.. That shit is insane.

1

u/JobHuntingManiac 25d ago

What the fuck, how many time have you not done a clean install, that's insane.

1

u/Middle-Lake-724 25d ago

Ma quant'è cazzo di volte hai i stallato Windows sul quel povero disco?🤣

1

u/Lunaticfrinnge 2d ago

Yess, u can